History of India

National Movements
Part - 1

Sepoy Mutiny

Outset:- The Sepoy Mutiny broke out in open rebellion at Merrut on 10 May, 1857.

Lucknow

Main leaders of this revolt

<u>Leader</u>		<u>Place</u>
1)	Mangal Pandey	Barrackpore
2)	Bahadur Shah II	
&		
General Bakht Khan		
Hakim Ashanullah		Delhi
3)	Begum Hazrat Mahal,	

Birjis Qadr and Ahmadullah

Continue

Main Leaders of this revolt

<u>Leaders</u> <u>Place</u>

4) Nana Saheb, Rao Saheb

_Tatya Tope and Azimullah Khan Kanpur

5) Rani Laxmi Bai Jhansi

6) Kunwar Singh

&

Amar Singh Bihar

7) Maulvi Liquat Ali Faizabad

Partition of Bengal / Swadeshi Movement

Outset:- The Swadeshi Movement began as an antipartition of agitation of Bengal by Lord Curzon's administration. The partition of Bengal was occurred in 1905. The Indian National Congress took up Swadeshi movement in Benaras session 1905 presided over by G.K Gokhale

Main Leader of this movement:- Lal -Bal- Pal (Lala Lajpt Rai, Bal Gangadhar Tilak and Bipin Chandra pal), Aurobindo Ghosh, Syed Haider Raza and Ajit Singh.

Home Rule Movement

Outset:- The Home Rule Movement was started in September 1916. This movement was the Indian response to the World War I and a new trend of aggressive politics of British administration.

Main Leaders of this movement: Annie Besant, Bal Gangadhar Tilak and Mohammed Ali Jinnah.

Khilafat Movement

Outset:- The Caliph (or, Khalifa) Sultan of Turkey, was looked upon by the Muslims as their religious head. During the first world war, when the safely and welfare of Turkey was threatened by the British, Indian Muslim adopted an aggressive anti-British attitude and the movement was started in 1920.

Main Leaders of this movement: The Ali Brothers — Mohammad Ali and Shaukat Ali and Maulana Abul Kalam Azad, Maulana Azad, Hakim Ajmal Khan, Hasrat Mohani. Mahatma Gandhi also supported this movement and mixed it with Non Cooperation movemment.

Non-Cooperation Movement

Outset:- The Indian National Congress at the Calcutta Session led by Lala Lajpat Rai called for Non-Cooperation Movement and defined 'Swaraj as its ultimate aim'.

- The movement envisaged:
- 1) Surrender of titles and honorary offices and resignation from nominated offices.
- 2) Refusal to attend government darbars and offcial functions and boycott of British Courts by the lawyers.
- 3) Refusal of general public to offer themselves for military and other government jobs, and boycott of foreign goods

Main leaders of this movement: This movement was led by Mahatma Gandhiji. The movement was supported by Ali Brothers. The other leaders of this movement are Motilal Nehru, Chittranjan Das, C.Rajagoplachari, Saifuddin Kitchlu. Vallab Bhai Patel and Aruna Asaf Ali.

For Pdf

www.studyforcompetitive.weebly.com.



Thank You







