National park in India

Part - 1

Jammu and Kashmir

Dachigram National park

Dachigram National park is situated in the United Territories Jammu and Kashmir. It is just 22 Km away from Srinagar. It covers an area of 141 km.

➤ It was declared National park in 1981.

➤ This National park is famous for presence of hangul or Kashmiri stag and other species.

Kishtwar High Altitude National park

Kishtwar High Altitude National park is situated in Kishtwar district of Jammu and Kashmir. It covers the area of 400 sq km.

It was declared National park on 4 February, 1981.

Salim Ali National Park

➤ Salim Ali National park or City Forest National Park is situated in Srinagar, Jammu Kashmir. It covers the area of 9.07 sq km.

It was declared National Park in 1986.

Kazinag National Park

Kazinag National Park is situated in North bank of Jhelum river, Baramulla District of Jammu and Kashmir.

> This park was declared as National Park in 2007.

Ladakh

Hemis National Park

- ➤ Hemis National Park is situated in high altitude of Ladakh. It is believed that this is the national Park which is situated in high altitude in the World. It is the largest National park in South Asia. It covers the area of 600 km.
- The National Park was declared National Park in 1981.
- Hemis National Park is famous for Presence of Snow Leopard.

Himachal Pradesh

Pin Valley National Park

➤ Pin Valley National park is situated in Spiti valley in Lahul and Spiti district of Himachal pradesh. It covers the area of 675 sq km.

It was established in 1958.

Great Himalayan National Park

Great Himalayan National Park is situated in Kullu district of Himachal Pradesh. It covers the area of 1171 sq km.

This National Park is established in 1984 and in June 2014, the Park is added to the lists of UNESCO World Heritage site.

Khirganga National Park

Khirganga National Park is situated in Kullu region of Himachal Pradesh. It covers the area of 710 sq km.

➤ It was established and declared National Park in 2010.

Inderkila National Park

Inderkila National Park is situated in Kullu region of Himachal Pradesh. It covers the area of 104 sq km.

> The Park was established in 2010.

Simbalbara National Park

- ➤ Simbalbara National park is situated in Paonta valley of Sirmour district of Himachal Pradesh. It covers the area of 27.88 sq km.
- ➤ It was established as wildlife sanctuary in 1958. It was declared National Park in 2010.

Uttarakhand

Jim Corbett National Park

- ➤ Jim Corbett National Park is situated in Nanital and Pauri Garhwal district of Uttarakhand. It is the oldest National Park of India. Earlier it was known as Hailey National park. The Park is named after famous hunter and naturalist Jim Corbett. This was the first National park which came under the initiative of Project Tiger in 1973. It covers the area of 520.8 sq km.
- ➤ The park was established as Hailey National Park in 1936. Later it was known as Jim Corbett National Park.

Gangotri National Park

Gangotri National Park is situated in Uttarkashi district of Uttarakhand. It covers the area of 2390 sq km.

Nanda Devi National Park

- Nanda Devi National park or Nanda Devi Biosphere Reserve is situated around the peak of Nanda Devi in Chamoli Garhwal district of Uttarakhand. It covers the area of 2,236 sq km.
- ➤ This National Park was established as National Park in 1982. The National Park was added to UNESCO World Heritage site in 1988. The Park was renamed as Nanda Devi and Valley of Flowers National Park in 2005.

Govind Pasu Vihar National Park

- Govind pasu Vihar National Park is situated in Uttarkashi district of Uttarakhand. It covers the area of 958 sq km. This National Park was named after a National freedom fighter and a famous politician Govind Ballabh Pant.
- ➤ This National Park was established in March 1955. It was declared National Park in 1990.

Rajaji National park

- ➤ Rajaji National park spreads over three district of Uttarakhand namely Haridwar, Dehradun and Pauri Garhwal. It covers the area of 820 sq km. This National park was named after prominent Leader of freedom struggle and the last Governor General of Free India C. Rajagopalachari.
- ➤ It is established in 1983. In 2015, this park was declared as 48th Tiger Reserve.

For Pdf

www.studyforcompetitive.weebly.com.

Thank You







