Static GK

of Tripura (Part 1)

Location, border and Altitude

Tripura

- 1. Total Area of Tripura :- 10, 491.69 km
- Location: North Latitude 22 degree 56 to 24 degree 32 / East Longtitude- 91degree 09 to 92 degree 20.
- 3. Forest Area: 06,294,294.3 sp.km.
- 4. Extreme Length and width: Length- 183.5km. Witdth- 112.7km
- 5. Total Length border of Tripura: 1,018km

Continue

- 6. Tripura's border with Bangladesh: 856km (84% of its boundary).
- 7. Tripura's border with the rest of India: 162km.
- 8. Tripura border with Mizoram: 109km
- 9. Tripura's border with Assam: 53km.
- 10. Altitude of Agartala: 12.80 Metres

Districts, Subdivisions and Blocks

Tripura

Initially Tripura was divided into four district namely Dhalai, South, North Tripura, South Tripura and West Tripura and on 21st January 2012 Four more districts were added to this state. Now Tripura has eight districts namely North Tripura, South Tripura, Dhalai, West Tripura, Khowai, Gomati, Unakoti and Sipahaijala.

- > Total no. of subdivision: 23
- > Total no. of Blocks: 58

Continue

- Largest District in area wise: Dhalai (2400sq.km)
- ➤ Smallest District in area wise: Unakoti (591.93sq.km).
- ➤ Largest population in Districts: West Tripura (9,17,534)'
- Lowest Population in District: Unakoti (2,77,335)

Continue

- ➤ Largest literacy rate in district: West Tripura (91.31%).
- Low literacy rate in district: Sipahijala (84.14%)
- ➤ Largest sex ration in District: West Tripura (972 women out of 1000 men).
- ➤ Lowest Sex ration in District: Dhalai (945 women out of 1000 men).

North Tripura

North Tripura

- Headquarter: Dharmanagar.
- This district is divided into three Subdivision and eight blocks.
- Subdivistion: Dharmanagar, Panisagar, Kanchanpur
- ➤ Blocks: Kadamtala, Panisagar, Dasda, Yubarajnagar, Damcherra, Jampui hill, Kalacherra and Laljuri.

South Tripura

South Tripura

- Headquarter: Belonia
- ➤ This district is divided into three subdivision and eight blocks
- Sub Division: Belonia, Santibazar and Sabroom
- Blocks: Rajnagar, Bagafa, Satchand,
 Hrishyamukh, Jolaibari, Rupaichari,
 Bharatchandra Nagar and Pongabari.

West Tripura

West Tripura

- Headquarter: Agartala
- ➤ This district has three sub division and nine blocks
- Sub division: Sadar, Mohanpur and Jirania.
- Blocks: Dukli, Mohanpur, Jirania, Hejamara Mandai Lefunga, Belbari, Bamutia and Old Agartala.

Dhalai

Dhalai

- Headquarter: Ambasa.
- This district has four sub division and eight blocks
- ➤ Sub Division: Ambasa, Kamalpur, Longtharai Valley and Gandacherra
- Blocks: Ambasa, Salema, Manu Dumburnagar, Ganganagar, Durga Chowmuhani, Chamanu, Raishyabari.

Gomati

Gomati

- Headquarter: Udaipur.
- This district has three sub division and eight blocks.
- Sub Division: Udaipur, Amarpur, Korbook.
- ➤ Blocks: Matabari, Amarpur, Karbook, Killa, Ampi, Silachari, Kakrabon and Tepania.

Unakoti

Unakoti

- Headquarter: Kailasahar.
- This district has two sub division and four blocks.
- > Sub Division: Kailasahahar and Kumarghat.
- Blocks: Gournagar, Kumarghat, Chandipur and Pecharthal.

Khowai

Khowai

- Headquarter: Khowai
- ➤ This district is made of two Sub division and four blocks.
- Sub Division: Khowai and Teliamura
- Blocks: Khowai Teliamura Padmabil Kalyanpur, Tulashikhar and Mungiakami.

Sipahijala

Sipahijala

- Headquarter: Bishramganj
- This district is divided into three sub divisions and seven blocks.
- Sub Division: Bishalgarh, Jampuijala and Sonamura
- Blocks: Bishalgarh, Jampuijala, Melaghar, Charilam, Kathalia, Boxanagar, Mohanbhog.

History of inclusion with India

History of inclusion with India

- Representative of the Tripura to the Constituent Assembly: Girija Sankar Guha (joined on 28 April, 1947 he was nominated by Bir Bikram Kishore Manikya Bahadur).
- 2. Council of Regency formed in: 17 May 1947.
- 3. First President of Council of Regency: Kanchanprava Devi.
- 4. Kahchanprava Devi agreed to sign 'Instrument of accession': 13 August 1947.

Continue

- 5. The Tripura Merger Agreement was signed in: 9 Septermber, 1949.
- Last Dewan and first Chief Commissioner of Tripura: Ranjit Kumar Roy. (He joined as first Chief Commissioner of Tripura on 15th October, 1949).
- 7. Tripura joined in the Indian Territory in: 15 October, 1949

Continue

- 8. Tripura was classified into 'c' category state: 26 Jan 1950.
- 9. Tripura became full fledged state (21st state of India): 21st Jan, 1972. It was formed under North East Areas (Re-Organisation) Act-1971).