Static GK

^{Of} Tripura (Part - 13)

Important Dates and Events of Tripura

(1948-1980)

Important dates and events of Tripura

- 1) 1948: End of Council of Regency. Kanchan Prabha Devi was appointed as sole Regent. Tripura Gana Mukti Parishad was formed
- 2) 1949: Maharani Kanchanprabha Devi and C. Gopalachari, the Governor of General of India signed Tripura Merger Agreement. (9th September). Tripura is included in the Union of India. The Government of India takes over the administration of Tripura. Ranjit Kumar Roy was appointed as the first Chief Commissioner of Tripura . (15th October).
- 3) 1950: Tripura joined as 'C' category state in the union of India.

- 1951: First elections of Agartala Municipality were held. Sukhamay Sengupta became the first chairman of Municipality. (5th Nov).
- 5) 1952: 1st General Elections were held in Tripura (11th January). 30 members Electoral College was formed to elect one Rajya Sabha member. Md. Arman Ali Munsi was elected the first Rajya Sabha member from Tripura.
- 6) 1953: Advisory Council was formed to advise Chief Commissioner by the President of India. Sachindralal Singha, Sukahmay Sengupta, Jitendramohan Debbarma became the members of the Advisory Council.

- 7) 1956: Tripura was declared as Union Territory of India (1st November).
- 8) 1957: 2nd General Elections were held and Tripura Territorial Council with 30 members was formed.
- 9) 1959: Tripura Territorial Council started functioning and Sachindralal Singha became the chairman of Tripura Territorial Council.
- 10) 1963: Last Session of Tripura Territorial Council. Tripura Territorial council changed into Tripura Legislative Assembly. 5 member cabinet led by Chief Minister Sachindralal Singha was formed.



11) 1964: The first rail service started in Tripura (Dharmanagar).

12) 1967: All India Radio started its service in Agartala.

13) 1970: Post of Chief Commissioner converted to Lieutenant Governor. Three districts were declared in Tripura. Agartala Museum was inaugurated by the first Lieutenant Governor A. L. Diyas.

- 14) 1971: Presidents's rule was imposed in Tripura for the first time.
- 15) 1972: Tripura is declared 21st State of India under the act of North East areas (Reorganisation). Braja Kumar Nehru was appointed as the first Governor of Tripura. Sukhmay Sengupta became the 2nd Chief Minister of Tripura.

16) 1976: Tripura Board of Secondary Education was established.

17) 1977: First time in the history of Tripura Coalition Ministry of CFD –CPI(M) led by Prafulla Das was formed for 116 days. In the same year second Coalition ministry of Janata-CPI(M) led by Radhika Ranjan Gupta was formed for 102 days. President's rule was imposed for second time in Tripura.

18) 1979: The law of Tripura Tribal Areas
Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) under
5th Schedule was passed by the Tripura
Legislative Assembly. Kokborok was declared
as Official State language.

For Pdf

www.studyforcompetitive.weebly.com.

Thank You







