Static GK

of Tripura (Part 3)

Urban bodies

Urban bodies

- First Municipality was first established in: 1871 during the time of Maharaja Bir Chandra Manikya. (The Agartala Municipality was established in with in area of 3sqkm.
- The first Municipality Act was activated in: 1874.
- 3) Provision of taxation was introduced by Municipal regulations: 1874.

- First General Municipal election was held in: 5th November, 1951. (for electing 18 members of the municipal committee).
- 5) Second and third Municipal election was held in: June 1978 and July 1983.
- 6) The Tripura Municipal Act under 74th Amendment of the constitution was passed in: 1994.

- First Chairman of Agartala Municipality: First Political Agent of Tripura AWB Power.
- 8) First nominated chairman of Agartala Municipality: Banga Chandra Bhattacharjee.
- 9) First Elected Chairman of Agartala Municipality: Sukhamay Sengupta (1951). (Present mayor: Dr. Prafulla Jit Sinha.)
- 10) Agartala Municipal Council was upgraded into Agartala Municipal Corporation: 21st January, 2014.

and in the same date 10 nagar Panchyat namely Dharmanagar, Udaipur, Kailasahar, Bishalgarh, Teliamura, Khowai, Belonia, Melagarh, Mohanpur, Ambassa were upgraded as Municipal council. And on 12 May,2015 three more Nagar Panchayat was changed into Municipal Council. These are Kumarghat, Ranir Bazar and Santi Bazar.

No of Urban Bodies

➤ No of Municipal Corporation: 01 (Agartala Municipal Corporation, formed in 21st Jan, 2014)

➤ No of Municipal Council: 13 (Thirteen).

No of Nagar Panchayats: 06 (six).

Local Rural Bodies

Local Rural Bodies

- 1) Tripura Panchayat System is dividedi into three layers namely
- Gram Panchyat in village Sector
- II. Panchayat samiti in Block Level.
- III. Zila Parishad in District Level.

 Panchayat Raj System first introduced in: 1959

- 3) First Panchayat election was held through ballot paper: 1983
- 4) Tri-layer Panchayat system was introduced in Tripura by: The Tripura Panchayat Act- 1993.
- 5) Under which Amendment did Tripura Panchayat Act 1993 was passed: 73rd Amendment.
- First three layer Panchayat Election held in: 1994 (under Tripura Panchayat Act – 1993).

- Who is Chief Executive Officer of Zila Parishad: District Magistrate of related district.
- 8) The Duration of Gram Panchayat: Five years.
- 9) The duration of Panchayat Samiti: Five Years
- 10) The duration of Zila Parishad: Five years.
- 11) The meeting of Gram Panchayat held in: One time in a month.

- 12) The meeting of Panchayat Samiti held in: At least once every two months.
- 13) The meeting of Zila Parishad held in: At least once every three months.
- 14) No of members of each Gram Panchayat: Minimum five or maximum 15.
- 15) The seat of Gram Panchayat are reserved for: Scheduled Caste, Scheduled Tribe and one Third of total Seat for women

- 16) No of Panchayat Secretary in each Gram Panchayat: Two. Senior Panchayat Secretary heads the Gram Panchayat office.
- 17) Area of Panchayat Samiti: Two or more blocks
- 18) Member of Panchayat Samiti: Not more than 15 1) one member from 8000 population Panchayat area 2) Elected members of Legislative Assembly of related areas. 3) The Pradhan sof Gram Panchayat under block.

- 19) Panchayat Samiti submits its report: Zila Parishad.
- 20) The Executive Officer of Panchayat Samiti: Block Development Officer (BDO).
- 21) Secretary of Panchayat Samiti: Panchayat Secretary and Panchayat Extension Officer.
- 22) The committee for conducting works of various subjects of Panchayat Samiti: Standing Commmittee.

23) Secretary of Executive Committee (Panchayat Samiti): the Secretary of Panchayat Samiti.

24) The Budget of Panchayat Samiti is approved by: Zila Parishad and related authorities.

25) The seat of Zila Parishads are reserved for: Scheduled caste, Scheduled tribe and women.

26) The Chief Executive Officer of Zila Parishad: Distrate Magistrate of related district.

27) The committee for conducting various work of Zila Parishad: Standing Committee.

Total No of Rural Bodies

- Total no of Zila Parishads: 08.
- > Elected member of Zila Parishad: 116 (Men-57 & women- 59)
- > Total no of Panchayat Samitis: 35
- Elected members of Panchayat Samitis: 419
 (Men- 205 & Women- 214)
- Total no of Gram Panchayats: 591
- Elected members of Gram Panchayats: 6,111 (Men-3223 & Women- 2888)

➤ No of Village Committee (ADC): 587

> Elected member of Village Committee: 4,265.

➤ No of all rural local bodies: 1,161.

For Pdf

www.studyforcompetitive.weebly.com.

Thank You







